Tropedia

  • Before making a single edit, Tropedia EXPECTS our site policy and manual of style to be followed. Failure to do so may result in deletion of contributions and blocks of users who refuse to learn to do so. Our policies can be reviewed here.
  • All images MUST now have proper attribution, those who neglect to assign at least the "fair use" licensing to an image may have it deleted. All new pages should use the preloadable templates feature on the edit page to add the appropriate basic page markup. Pages that don't do this will be subject to deletion, with or without explanation.
  • All new trope pages will be made with the "Trope Workshop" found on the "Troper Tools" menu and worked on until they have at least three examples. The Trope workshop specific templates can then be removed and it will be regarded as a regular trope page after being moved to the Main namespace. THIS SHOULD BE WORKING NOW, REPORT ANY ISSUES TO Janna2000, SelfCloak or RRabbit42. DON'T MAKE PAGES MANUALLY UNLESS A TEMPLATE IS BROKEN, AND REPORT IT THAT IS THE CASE. PAGES WILL BE DELETED OTHERWISE IF THEY ARE MISSING BASIC MARKUP.

READ MORE

Tropedia
Advertisement
Tropedia
157,226
pages
Farm-Fresh balance.pngYMMVTransmit blue.pngRadarWikEd fancyquotes.pngQuotes • (Emoticon happy.pngFunnyHeart.pngHeartwarmingSilk award star gold 3.pngAwesome) • Refridgerator.pngFridgeGroup.pngCharactersScript edit.pngFanfic RecsSkull0.pngNightmare FuelRsz 1rsz 2rsz 1shout-out icon.pngShout OutMagnifier.pngPlotGota icono.pngTear JerkerBug-silk.pngHeadscratchersHelp.pngTriviaWMGFilmRoll-small.pngRecapRainbow.pngHo YayPhoto link.pngImage LinksNyan-Cat-Original.pngMemesHaiku-wide-icon.pngHaikuLaconicLibrary science symbol .svg SourceSetting

Mona the Vampire was an animated television show, running from 1999 to 2003. Mona Parker is an average girl living in an average small town. Not that she's content with it. Assuming the identity of Mona the Vampire (wig, fangs and cape that could give Dracula a run for his money), she fight the supernatural creeps and baddies that are drawn to her town (or that she believes are drawn to her town, in any case). Assisting her are her faithful cat Fang, along with her two best friends, Charley (A.K.A. Zapman) and Lily (A.K.A. Princess Giant).


Mona the Vampire Offers examples of:

  • Adults Are Useless: Subverted. It's not that they are helpful, it's just that--in Mona's mind--they have no clear understanding of what's going on when supernatural forces are at work.
  • Adaptational Heroism: An arguable and downplayed example. Mona in the original book (where the show gets the designs of the character) was a naughty child who created chaos and played pranks on her classmates and teachers, in the vein of Dennis the Menace, Minnie the Minx or Calvin from Calvin and Hobbes, whereas in the show she thinks of herself as a superhero fighting supernatural entities. However, some of the novel length sequels made after the original trilogy of picture books also had her as a more super-heroic character (from where the show adaptated many plots).
  • Agent Scully: Angela, to the point that she has NO IMAGINATION whatsoever. Ironically, that actually saves Mona and her friends when they confronted with a Wendigo (no, not that one).
  • Bigfoot, Sasquatch, and Yeti
  • Blonde, Brunette, Redhead: Charley, Mona, and Lily.
  • Brainwashed and Crazy: Whether it's slime, computers or the like, Mona will believe that something's wrong when people are obsessed with something/not acting themselves.
  • Crop Circles: One episode had Mona dealing with aliens making crop circles. In reality, it was two people advertising a cornfield maze.
  • Composite Character: a weird example. The show's version of Mona resembles the original picture book version in appearance, but the personality of the character and storylines she is involved in resemble the later novel version.
  • Every Girl Is Cuter With Hair Decs: Mona has red hair bows and Lily has her blue headband.
  • Flower in Her Hair: Lily has a daisy in her hair.
  • Fun with Acronyms: In The Men In Dark Suits, Mona states that UN means "Uranus Nerexene" although Charlie states it as "United Nations". Mona lampshades that those two were always mixed up.
  • Getting Crap Past the Radar: In one episode Mona is pulled through a mirror into a Negaverse. In that universe the normally nice Charley and Lily are bullies. The animators decided to show this by having the Nega Lily replace the flower Lily normally wears in her hair, with a marijuana leaf.
    • For not being made in Japan, this show certainly gets away with a lot of Panty Shots.
  • Ghost Story: If it's not vampires, mummies, bigfoot, dolls, etc., there's always a ghost involved.
  • Harmless Electrocution: In "Robot Baby Sitter", Belinda is jolted out of her seat and in mid-air momentarily after Mona shuffles her feet across the carpet, and gives a static shock.
  • Here We Go Again: After Mona 'frees' her mother from the influence of an old band she likes, her dad finds out about a Sci-fi convention based on a show he watched. Mona then states this.
  • Keep Circulating the Tapes: Actually the show has had a few DVD releases, but only a handful of episodes at most. The majority of the series is still unavailable.
  • Lego Genetics: Mona uses dinosaur D.N.A. ordered from a comic book to make her own T-Rex and it works.
  • Maybe Magic, Maybe Mundane: Through Mona's eyes--and also her friends'--there's always supernatural stuff going along. However, many of the episodes can be figured out through the evidence placed in the show. For example, an episode where lots of snakes are seen around town and a woman dressing up as Medusa is based on the warm weather and the fact that the woman is playing Medusa in a production.
  • Megane: Charlie.
  • The Men in Black--er, Dark Suits.
  • Ms. Imagination: Mona.
  • Murderous Mannequin: "Night of the Living Mannequin" What Mona believes are mannequins being used to take over the town are really just mannequins being remade and modeling a new fashion line.
  • Ninja Pirate Zombie Robot: In their time, Mona and her friends have battled Ghosts, nature spirits, aliens, monsters, robots and even a sentient computer virus.
  • No Broadcast For You: Despite being an English production, it never aired in the U.S. (although it has been seen on jaroo.com, and it's on the ThisTV network, which is out of your luck if you don't have it).
    • It is an English language production, but the show is Canadian which might explain why it was not seen in the U.S.
  • Our Vampires Are Different: Mona's trump card is lightning bolts she can shoot from her fingertips.
  • Panty Shot: Commonly. Such as Belinda having this twice in "Robot Baby Sitter". Once when she's in fetal position on a couch before pulling on her hair due to not bearing the loud music that Mona turned up on the cassette player attached to her headphones; the other when she's launched into the air after Mona shocks her due to passing the static electricity.
  • Police Are Useless: Subverted. The police is good at handling their job. The thing is that Mona usually somehow defeats the 'supernatural threats' all by herself and the sheriff knows about their exploits. He doesn't do anything about it because he only sees it as make-believe.
  • Rich Bitch: Angela, Mona's rival. The pilot explains that her parents won the lottery and thus it explains her personality.
  • Scary Scarecrows: One in the pilot episode Night of the Living Scarecrow. Played with and subverted for these reasons: One, what one was the scarecrow was really the caretaker of the church...but then we find out there's a second hat, so there might really be a living sacrecrow.
  • Theme Naming: There's a whole list of episodes with the word Ghoul in them.
  • Tomboy and Girly Girl: Mona's adventurous personality is a stark contrast to Lily's shy, quiet demeanor.
  • Tome of Eldritch Lore: Mona's Diary, the Book of the Slimy. Apparently it has some seriously nasty things locked away in its pages.
  • Unreliable Narrator (Through The Eyes Of A Child): It is suggested in the series that all the adventures are in fact only Mona's imagination, and she and her friends are just playing super heroes.
  • Vampires: The title character Mona, and her rival Von Kreepsula.
  • Vampire Hunter: The title of one episode, and the titular character Nicole. Apparently she's also the same as Mona and her friends (what with her wild imagination) and was like that because Angela spread nasty rumors about Mona and the others to her. Fortunately, Vampire and Vampire Hunter reconciled and became friends.
  • Wendigo: Subject of one episode.
  • What Do You Mean It's Not Heinous?: In There's No Place Like Gnome, the town gets riled up when their gnomes start getting picked off like flies.
  • What Kind of Lame Power Is Heart, Anyway?: In Red Moon Monsters, Lily wants the power to be big despite Mona giving her way more awesome ideas for powers.
  • Why Did It Have To Be Bugs?: Lily has a horrifying fear of bugs in The Dreaded Human Spider but gets rid of it just in time to save her friends.
Advertisement